close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: ILP: An Evening with Jesmyn Ward
Canceled

ILP: An Evening with Jesmyn Ward

Virtual Program on Zoom

This event is made possible by Illinois Libraries Present, a statewide collaboration between public libraries offering high-quality events.

Join us for an evening with two-time National Book Award winner Jesmyn Ward as she discusses how her literary vision and personal experiences address urgent questions about racism and social injustice.

Ward, hailed as “the new Toni Morrison” by the American Booksellers Association, is the author of fiction, nonfiction, and memoir, including the critically acclaimed novels Sing, Unburied, Sing and Salvage the Bones, and the memoir Men We Reaped. In 2017, she became the first woman and first person of color to win the National Book Award for Fiction twice. A professor of creative writing at Tulane University and contributing editor to Vanity Fair, Ward’s many honors include the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction, a MacArthur Genius Grant, and a Strauss Living Award.

This event is made possible by Illinois Libraries Present, a statewide collaboration among public libraries offering premier events. ILP is funded in part by a grant awarded by the Illinois State Library, a department of the Office of Secretary of State, using funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services, under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA). ILP is committed to inclusion and accessibility. To request accommodations, please email illinoislibrariespresent@gmail.com.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Adult Program/Class |

TAGS: | Virtual Author | ILP |

Warren-Newport Public Library

askus@wnpl.info
Phone: 847-244-5150

Hours
Mon, Dec 05 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Dec 06 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Dec 07 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Dec 08 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Dec 09 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Dec 10 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Dec 11 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

Founded in 1973, the award-winning Warren-Newport Public Library serves a population of approximately 60,000 within a 55-square mile area. The library offers books, movies, and music in the collections and engaging programs for all ages. WNPL also provides many educational and entertaining online resources, including ebooks, eaudiobooks, streaming media and research databases.

Upcoming events

Wed, Dec 07, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Wed, Dec 07, 10:00am - 10:45am
Meeting Room A
This event is full

Wed, Dec 07, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Meeting Room A/B

Thu, Dec 08, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Offsite,Board Room

Thu, Dec 08, 7:00pm - 8:45pm

Fri, Dec 09, 10:00am - 11:30am
Meeting Room A

Sat, Dec 10, 9:00am - 5:00pm

Mon, Dec 12, All day

Mon, Dec 12, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Vault Monitor

Tue, Dec 13, 10:00am - 11:00am
The Flex
This event is full

Tue, Dec 13, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Board Room

Wed, Dec 14, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Point Monitor

Thu, Dec 15, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Dec 19, 3:00pm - 7:00pm
Meeting Room A/B

Tue, Dec 20, 3:00pm - 7:00pm
Meeting Room A/B

Wed, Dec 21, 3:00pm - 7:00pm
Meeting Room A/B

Thu, Dec 22, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Offsite,Board Room

Tue, Dec 27, 10:00am - 2:00pm
Point Maker Space

Tue, Dec 27, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Tue, Dec 27, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Point Maker Space

Wed, Dec 28, 10:00am - 11:00am
The Flex
Registration opens Wednesday, December 14 2022 at 9:00am

Wed, Dec 28, 10:00am - 2:00pm
Point Maker Space

Wed, Dec 28, 11:15am - 12:30pm
The Flex
Registration opens Wednesday, December 14 2022 at 9:00am

Wed, Dec 28, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Vault Maker Space

Wed, Dec 28, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Thu, Dec 29, 10:00am - 2:00pm
Point Maker Space

Thu, Dec 29, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Vault Monitor

Thu, Dec 29, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Fri, Dec 30, 10:00am - 2:00pm
Point Maker Space

Fri, Dec 30, 11:00am - 1:00pm
Meeting Room A/B

Tue, Jan 03, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Vault Monitor

Tue, Jan 03, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Point Maker Space

Tue, Jan 03, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Board Room

Wed, Jan 04, All day
Vault Maker Space

Wed, Jan 04, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Meeting Room A/B

Thu, Jan 05, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Vault Monitor

Thu, Jan 05, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Offsite,Board Room

Thu, Jan 05, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
The Flex
This event is full